Give and Take by Adam Grant

I’ve heard about “Give and Take” for a while and I finally got around to reading it. I wish I had done it sooner. Adam Grant does a great job of explaining why givers achieve more sustainable success than matchers and takers. Adam also describes how givers also look out for themselves, while helping others. This is a key insight because many givers get taken advantage of.

I really enjoyed this book – it had me thinking weeks after I finished it. Adam uses really great examples of a Silicon Valley entrepreneur, a writer for the Simpsons, and a lawyer with a speech impediment to discuss givers and their traits. He also describes how being vulnerable can be a good thing. I highly recommend this book – great insight that it’s ok to help others, while helping yourself.

adam-grant-give-and-take

Leave a Reply

